legolas119Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation
Started by legolas119




22 posts in this topic
legolas119
Member


0
64 posts 18 threads Joined: Jul 2018
08-03-2018, 04:25 PM -
#11
(08-03-2018, 02:53 PM)Ani Wrote: No. If you can get 8700K and overclock, even better. The best consumer lineup CPU for RPCS3 as of today is 8700K.

ah i need the 8700K and overclock it? :O
Is it necessary the TSX in order to correctly run ps3 games?

The 2600X is cheaper and has a good reviews and recommendations, if it is able to run correctly (i mean at 60fps fullHD) ps3 games, i can buy it.  But if it isn't able because it isn't enoough faster (i don't know if i can overclock it)  and because it hasn't the TSX, i will buy an Intel!

thanks!
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,634 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
08-03-2018, 11:35 PM -
#12
You don't need to overclock it. But if you're getting the 8700, might as well go the extra mile and go for +500/1000MHz and get that extra performance. You can just get the 8700 and call it a day too.

TSX is not mandatory, but helps performance when present.

I already said above, you shouldn't be comparing 2600X with 8700, it's R7 2700X vs i7 8700/8700K and the i7 wins easily in RPCS3.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
legolas119
Member


0
64 posts 18 threads Joined: Jul 2018
08-04-2018, 01:13 PM -
#13
(08-03-2018, 11:35 PM)Ani Wrote: You don't need to overclock it. But if you're getting the 8700, might as well go the extra mile and go for +500/1000MHz and get that extra performance. You can just get the 8700 and call it a day too.

TSX is not mandatory, but helps performance when present.

I already said above, you shouldn't be comparing 2600X with 8700, it's R7 2700X vs i7 8700/8700K and the i7 wins easily in RPCS3.

perfect. As alternative I can evaluate i5 8600K? It can reach 4.3 Ghz in turbo mode and I can save about 100 euro vs the i7 8700K.. probably the i5 too has the TSX and could be good in any case for the RPCS3, are you agree?
MasterTurkey
Member


0
125 posts 51 threads Joined: Feb 2018
08-05-2018, 07:06 AM -
#14
8700k has more threads. more threads better performance. at least I think that's right...

6 cores/6 threads vs 6 cores/12 threads. 8700k is 18-25% better performance. i'm still waiting on my gpu to test the 2600x (future living room build) with rpcs3, but I will say 8700k works great. i'm very happy with my 8700k.
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,634 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
08-05-2018, 06:27 PM -
#15
8600K also has TSX yes, TSX is present on 6500/7500/8500 and above.

That 4.3GHz turbo mode is Intel bait, 4.3GHz is the max turbo on a single core, it can't turbo to that when you're using all. For those extra clock speeds, you need to overclock. You can easily overclock at least some 500MHz without a lot of effort, if you need more performance that is.

8600K is surely very good as well, if you want to save money then go for it.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
legolas119
Member


0
64 posts 18 threads Joined: Jul 2018
08-05-2018, 09:46 PM -
#16
(08-05-2018, 06:27 PM)Ani Wrote: 8600K also has TSX yes, TSX is present on 6500/7500/8500 and above.

That 4.3GHz turbo mode is Intel bait, 4.3GHz is the max turbo on a single core, it can't turbo to that when you're using all. For those extra clock speeds, you need to overclock. You can easily overclock at least some 500MHz without a lot of effort, if you need more performance that is.

8600K is surely very good as well, if you want to save money then go for it.

yes i cheked here https://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html
Intel i5 8600K is really better thant Ryzen 5 2600X: 2.520 vs 2.142.  So its' better to buy an Intel even if it has 6 threads i think

I think that i will buy the i5 8600K, I can save money and in any case i have a really good CPU also for RCPS3, ok?

Ah, just another question: when i play a ps3 game in RCPS3, can i use the .iso format? If so, is it possible to use the DLC and updates for every game? Usually they are .pkg files that can be installed in a modded ps3. But is it possible to use DLC and so on also with the emulator?

thanks
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,634 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
08-07-2018, 12:00 AM -
#17
8600K is also better for RPCS3 because it has TSX which that benchmark likely doesn't test for

You can keep your games as ISO files yes, but every time you want to boot a game you'll have to mount the ISO to a virtual drive.

The emulator can use DLC and updates yeah, either dump them already installed from a PS3 or dump the package and install via package.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
legolas119
Member


0
64 posts 18 threads Joined: Jul 2018
08-07-2018, 09:15 PM -
#18
(08-07-2018, 12:00 AM)Ani Wrote: 8600K is also better for RPCS3 because it has TSX which that benchmark likely doesn't test for

You can keep your games as ISO files yes, but every time you want to boot a game you'll have to mount the ISO to a virtual drive.

The emulator can use DLC and updates yeah, either dump them already installed from a PS3 or dump the package and install via package.

ah ok! is it possible to install the .pkg file of the DLC on the emulator?!? Like in a PS3 real console?? Very good Smile

I have decided all the components of my new Mini-ITX.  In order to save money i think that i will buy an i5 8600, in turbo mode it can reach 4.3Ghz and in this way i can avoid to buy a cooler.
With this cpu i can run ps3 games generally ad 30fps and at 1080p and filters active? Or is it necessary a more powerful cpu like i7 8700?
On ebay the difference between i5 8600 and i7 8700 is 60 euro... for the i7 8700 the best price that i found is 290 euro  (i5 8600 230 euro).
This post was last modified: 08-07-2018, 09:41 PM by legolas119.
WaveMaster
Member


0
2 posts 0 threads Joined: Sep 2018
09-05-2018, 03:38 AM -
#19
I wonder what role DX12 could play in the future, it supposedly was meant to offer us 'console level efficiency' on PC.
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,634 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
09-05-2018, 01:52 PM -
#20
None, DX12 is useless and is going to be removed from the emulator.
Vulkan serves the same purpose and is multi platform.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)