RPCS3 Forums
Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Printable Version

+- RPCS3 Forums (https://forums.rpcs3.net)
+-- Forum: Community (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-16.html)
+--- Thread: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation (/thread-199255.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - legolas119 - 07-31-2018

Hi guys

i would like to buy a mini-pc in order to create a complete collection of emulators and then i would like to connect it to my tv fullHD.
Which are the requirements that I need in order to play PS3 games with every effect activated, in fullHD and 60fps?  a GTX 970 or 960 is it enough? And an i7 8750 processor?

thank you very much!


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Ani - 07-31-2018

You need to note a few things first:
- A lot of PS3 games are locked to 30fps
- A card like GTX 1060 will allow you to scale games to 4K while mantaining 1080p levels of performance

There is no desktop i7 8750, assuming you want to aim for the BEST performance, you should get an i7 8700K.
If it's a mini PC, you'll also need a good cooler.


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - legolas119 - 07-31-2018

(07-31-2018, 10:06 PM)Ani Wrote: You need to note a few things first:
- A lot of PS3 games are locked to 30fps
- A card like GTX 1060 will allow you to scale games to 4K while mantaining 1080p levels of performance

There is no desktop i7 8750, assuming you want to aim for the BEST performance, you should get an i7 8700K.
If it's a mini PC, you'll also need a good cooler.



you are right, the i78750 is for notebook.  The i78700K is for desktop.
Ok, so if i need "only" 1080p resolution, with best performance, can i buy a cheaper GPU than a GTX 1060? And how many GB of RAM i need?
thanks


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Ani - 07-31-2018

Recommend at least 8GB of RAM. You can get a cheaper GPU like GTX 1050/1050Ti or even an AMD counterpart like RX 560/570, and even those will allow for scaling above 1080p.


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - legolas119 - 08-01-2018

(07-31-2018, 11:49 PM)Ani Wrote: Recommend at least 8GB of RAM. You can get a cheaper GPU like GTX 1050/1050Ti or even an AMD counterpart like RX 560/570, and even those will allow for scaling above 1080p.

thanks, ok. So with 16GB RAM is better and i'm sure that games works at best performance


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Ani - 08-01-2018

More RAM doesn't increase performance. 8GB is enough for most games, more than that comes in hand only if you have a big shader cache.


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - legolas119 - 08-01-2018

(08-01-2018, 11:05 PM)Ani Wrote: More RAM doesn't increase performance. 8GB is enough for most games, more than that comes in hand only if you have a big shader cache.

ah ok ok, now i'm evaluating this: https://www.amazon.it/Corsair-Vengeance-Memorie-Desktop-Prestazioni/dp/B0123ZB70Q/ref=as_li_ss_tl?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1533045883&sr=1-2&keywords=8gb+2666&linkCode=sl1&tag=fb-assemblarepc-21&linkId=a2d7f2158b41b2f857db5794e2d7ded8

And i'm checking these 2 CPU:
https://www.amazon.it/Intel-Core-8700-Processore-Argento/dp/B07598HLB4/ref=as_li_ss_tl?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1533045777&sr=1-2&keywords=8700&linkCode=sl1&tag=fb-assemblarepc-21&linkId=11196920f86210c394cf6c855737201b

and 

https://www.bpm-power.com/it/product/1813798/?utm_source=idealoit

they seem both valid with Intel better in single thread e AMD better in multi thread


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Ani - 08-02-2018

8700 compares to a 2700X in the AMD lineup as far as RPCS3 performance goes, not 2600X.

8700 performs better because TSX and some architectural differences. If you want to overclock, get the K variant, it overclocks well.


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - legolas119 - 08-02-2018

ah really? Do you suggest an AMD 2700x instead of an Intel i7 8700?


RE: Mimimum requirements for a perfect emulation - Ani - 08-03-2018

No. If you can get 8700K and overclock, even better. The best consumer lineup CPU for RPCS3 as of today is 8700K.