RPCS3 Forums

Full Version: GUI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi and thanks for this wondrous creation Big Grin 

I have some questions that I am unsure if the problem is just with me or a general one.
Win10 x64, i7-4790K, 16GB RAM, Evga GTX 770 SC.
rpcs3-v0.0.5-7321-52377791_win64

1. Settings in the GUI section of Config aren't saved. Specifically - UI Colors, UI Stylesheets, Discord (OFF) are just a few I tried.
2. Is there any way to rename the games under Name column?
3. Clicking Save doesn't appear to change the config INI files.
4. Editing these Config files directly is also not saved as restarting RPCS3 resets any settings!!! Very strange!

Thanks for your help
Bumpety bump ;-)
Bump again Smile
1. UI stuff is saved to the QT config file, not config.yml.
2. Not without editing the game PARAM.SFO itself.
3. Check if settings are saved after you save and then close the emulator.
4. Check if settings are saved if you edit it before opening rpcs3.exe.
(03-31-2019, 09:41 PM)Ani Wrote: [ -> ]1. UI stuff is saved to the QT config file, not config.yml.
2. Not without editing the game PARAM.SFO itself.
3. Check if settings are saved after you save and then close the emulator.
4. Check if settings are saved if you edit it before opening rpcs3.exe.

Hi and thanks for taking time to answer my queries Smile 

1. Would you please clarify exactly what this file is and where it is located. I created a UserStyle.qss file and all settings are saved within it but when I select this to be used from within the options dialogue of RPCS3, then click Save, when restarting the app, it reverts to the default theme. The issue seems to be that there is no setting within the CurrentSettings.ini to tell the emulator what theme to use so it just keeps reverting to it's default.
2. I notice there is now a R-click option that allows you to rename an item in the GameList. But on restarting RPCS3, all these are lost and revert to default names.
3. Settings are saved but closing the emulator reverts the settings to their previous default settings. For example, removing columns is saved within the CurrentSettings.ini file showing: visibility_column_serial=false. Closing RPCS3 is fine, but on restarting it, this changes the setting back to true.
4. See #3.

I have tried various ways to see if there's some way that works. Changing the ini before and after closing the app. Changing settings directly within the app. The trouble is that it seems certain settings are getting reset upon restarting the emulator.

Thanks again for your help.

EDIT:
System upgrade
Win10 x64, i7-8750H, 16GB RAM, GTX 1060.
rpcs3-v0.0.6-8071 Alpha [2019-05-05]_win64

Ah, I found out that the way to save columns is to change them, go to options and save the current settings as a new file!
Why can't we use an existing file and just update it?

The way this works is understandable, allowing users to have their preferred setup, but realistically, how many users use the same PC? It just makes using the settings dialogue confusing imho.
1. GuiConfigs folder, CurrentSettings.ini file contains the "currentStylesheet" parameter under [Meta]
2. Cannot reproduce, name change persists here
3. Cannot reproduce as well
(05-06-2019, 04:00 PM)Ani Wrote: [ -> ]1. GuiConfigs folder, CurrentSettings.ini file contains the "currentStylesheet" parameter under [Meta]
2. Cannot reproduce, name change persists here
3. Cannot reproduce as well
1. Ok so I checked this out  and this is what is shown under Meta:

Code:
[Meta]
currentConfig=- sl23
showDebugTab=false
currentStylesheet=- Envy - sl23
This stylesheet is NOT loaded on startup of RPCS3. In fact, the last line is deleted from the config file.
2. [email protected] Batmantm 3 renamed to: LEGO Batman 3. Upon restarting, name reverts to oriiginal. Every game, every time.
3. I have found that these names (and columns) are stored in CurrentSettings.ini and therefore require the saving of adjustments via the Options dialog's Save Current Settings button. Without following this procedure every time changes are made, those changes are lost. Again, why can't we just click the Save button that closes the window? This seems to have no effect for me!

Just by opening and closing the Options window, several things kept appearing in the CurrentSettings.ini:
Code:
[Meta]
currentConfig=- sl23-3
useRichPresence=true
discordState=
currentStylesheet=- Envy - sl23
showDebugTab=false
These changes were witnessed whilst the ini was open in my text editor. I am just going to start up RPCS3 again after closing it. These entries are still there. Until the app starts and all lines are deleted except the first.

Could it be that where I update RPCS3 via drag n drop to overwrite existing configuration with updated files that there is a conflict happening? How do I safely update RPCS3 without deleting any settings or having to compile shaders again? The latter is a pain as it can take ages! It's also taking up huge amounts of space, currently 5GB!
I have no idea what voodoo is going on in there, make sure you have up-to-date QT DLLs (drag and drop files from latest build and replace all when prompted)
You're having weird issues that no one else can reproduce
Make sure you don't have RPCS3 on some obnoxious path like C:\Program Files
Ani
Quote:I have no idea what voodoo is going on in there, make sure you have up-to-date QT DLLs (drag and drop files from latest build and replace all when prompted)
You're having weird issues that no one else can reproduce
Make sure you don't have RPCS3 on some obnoxious path like C:\Program Files

I downloaded latest version of RPCS3 and the PS3 firmware PUP file.
Added nothing more to it than the config, compat dbase and theme file to test if theme selection saved.
Tried writing new config file, save options dialog and just closing without saving.
All attempts failed to save this setting.

The installation is on D: and has nothing to do with protected folders.

Moved location of app folder. Removed the old config files. Restarted app. Installed firmware v4.84. Opened Config/GUI window. Set theme and clicked Save button.
Restarted app. Theme setting finally saved!!!

Must be a config issue? So here's my file:

Code:
[Debugger]
[email protected](\0\0\0\xff\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\x2\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\xff\x1\xff\xff\xff\xff\x1\0\0\0\x1\0)

[GameList]
Col0visible=true
Col10visible=false
Col1visible=true
Col2visible=false
Col3visible=false
Col4visible=false
Col5visible=false
Col6visible=false
Col7visible=false
Col8visible=false
Col9visible=false
[email protected]()
[email protected](\0\0\0\x43\0\xff\xff\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0)
iconSize=2
listMode=true
marginFactor=0.09
sortAsc=true
sortCol=1
[email protected](\0\0\0\xff\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\f\xfc\a\0\0\0\t\0\0\0\x5\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x6\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\a\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\b\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\t\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\n\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x2\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x3\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x4\0\0\0\0\0\0\x2\x14\0\0\0\f\0\x1\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x96\xff\xff\xff\xff\0\0\0\x84\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\f\0\0\0\x33\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\x2\0\0\x1\x12\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\xcf\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\x3\xe8\x1\0\0\0\x8d)
textFactor=2
visibility_column_category=false
visibility_column_compat=true
visibility_column_firmware=false
visibility_column_icon=true
visibility_column_move=false
visibility_column_name=true
visibility_column_parental=false
visibility_column_path=false
visibility_column_resolution=false
visibility_column_serial=false
visibility_column_sound=false
visibility_column_version=false

[Logger]
level=4
stack=true

[Titles]
BLES00332=LEGO Batman 1
BLES01831=LEGO Marvel Super Heroes
BLES01964=LEGO Movie
BLES02132=LEGO Jurassic World
BLUS30437=LEGO Harry Potter 1-4
BLUS31392=LEGO The Hobbit
BLUS31434=LEGO Batman 3
BLUS31550=LEGO Marvel's Avengers
BLUS31578=LEGO Star Wars - Force Awakens
NPUB31419=Minecraft - PS3 Edition

[main_window]
[email protected](\x1\xd9\xd0\xcb\0\x2\0\0\0\0\x1\xcc\0\0\0L\0\0\x3\xef\0\0\x2\xa0\0\0\x1\xd4\0\0\0k\0\0\x3\xe7\0\0\x2\x98\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\a\x80)
infoBoxEnabledWelcome=false
lastExplorePathPUP=D:/Documents/- TEST -/rpcs3-v0.0.5-6693-f27f7d50_win64/User
loggerVisible=false
[email protected](\0\0\0\x43\x1\xff\xff((((((\0\0)
[email protected](\0\0\0\x43\x1\xff\xff++\x81\x81\x81\x81\0\0)
[email protected](\0\0\0\xff\0\0\0\0\xfd\0\0\0\0\0\0\x2\x14\0\0\x1\xdd\0\0\0\x4\0\0\0\x4\0\0\0\b\0\0\0\b\xfc\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\x2\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\x14\0m\0w\0_\0t\0o\0o\0l\0\x62\0\x61\0r\x1\0\0\0\0\xff\xff\xff\xff\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0)
[email protected](\0\0\0\xff\0\0\0\0\xfd\0\0\0\x2\0\0\0\0\0\0\x2\x14\0\0\x1\xdd\xfc\x2\0\0\0\x2\xfb\0\0\0\x10\0g\0\x61\0m\0\x65\0l\0i\0s\0t\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\xdd\0\0\0\x1c\0\xff\xff\xff\xfb\0\0\0\f\0l\0o\0g\0g\0\x65\0r\0\0\0\x1\xf7\0\0\0\x86\0\0\0n\0\xff\xff\xff\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\xfc\x2\0\0\0\x1\xfb\0\0\0\x10\0\x64\0\x65\0\x62\0u\0g\0g\0\x65\0r\0\0\0\0\0\xff\xff\xff\xff\0\0\0\xd2\0\xff\xff\xff\0\0\0\0\0\0\x1\xdd\0\0\0\x4\0\0\0\x4\0\0\0\b\0\0\0\b\xfc\0\0\0\0)
Is there anything wrong in there? Is it a path issue? Can't see what could be wrong with that though. No other apps have issues with that path. And there's over a hundred in there!

My last attempt was to get the old setup working. I finally got it to save the theme setting by copy and pasted the currentsettings.ini content from the new setup to the old. How this solved the issue I don't know! Any ideas? Perhaps the older config had some permission issues or something?

Anyway, all seems good for now! Thanks for looking ito it Smile

EDIT:
Aha! It seems that when you save the current config as a new file, the currentSettings.ini gets reset! It seems that this is the only file RPCS3 uses. Once you create that backup you lose control over the settings. It's as though RPCS3 only recognises one settings file and resets it to default once a backup is made, then continues to use it rather than having the ability to read from other files.

What is this folder path for: RPCS3/config/custom_configs/
If this is where these custom files should go then we need option to save to it when creating a new backup.

I think part of the issue is that [Meta] doesn't get saved to the new config files, so RPCS3 is reverting to defaults created in the CurrentSettings.ini.

I also can't seem to save the GameList icon sizes using the slider. The setting just won't save regardless what I do.

EDIT:
It would be interesting to know how you use this app and how you save your settings for these parameters.
> Is there anything wrong in there? Is it a path issue? Can't see what could be wrong with that though. No other apps have issues with that path. And there's over a hundred in there!

Don't know exactly what, but Windows sets special permissions on that directory, and those interfere with RPCS3 being able to work properly. In general, you should always put portable software outside of that folder, unless the software itself defaults to install there, don't install there.
Pages: 1 2