yuvalylyRPCS3 (almost) not using GPU
Started by yuvalyly




8 posts in this topic
yuvalyly
Member


0
8 posts 3 threads Joined: Oct 2020
04-19-2021, 02:58 PM -
#1
I am trying to run Skylanders Imaginators, but I get low FPS and sound problems. I checked the task manager to see what the bottleneck is, and I saw that the CPU is 100% used but the GPU is barley used at all. I noticed that in some games (on RPCS3) the GPU is used only in menus, and not in gameplay. I searched the settings but I couldn't find a "use GPU" option. I have found only 1 post about it on reddit, but in that case the post's writer had a terrible CPU and the GPU just waited for it, but I don't think it's my problem because I have a good CPU.

screenshot of he emulator with the task manager: https://imgur.com/a/FO7HooR

log: https://www.mediafire.com/file/xbozxinf1...og.gz/file

system info:
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz

Base speed: 3.60 GHz
Sockets: 1
Cores: 4
Logical processors: 8
Virtualization: Disabled
Hyper-V support: Yes
L1 cache: 256 KB
L2 cache: 1.0 MB
L3 cache: 8.0 MB

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER

Driver version: 27.21.14.6611
Driver date: 4/12/2021
DirectX version: 12 (FL 12.1)
Physical location: PCI bus 1, device 0, function 0

RAM: 16 GB

Speed: 2400 MHz
Form factor: DIMM
Hardware reserved: 75.0 MB

OS: Windows 10 Pro
version: 2004
build: 19041.928
yurinator557
RPCS3 Tester


0
57 posts 18 threads Joined: Jul 2019
04-19-2021, 07:08 PM -
#2
Low GPU usage is normal, especially on such a strong GPU. Your CPU is not strong enough to run this game.
yuvalyly
Member


0
8 posts 3 threads Joined: Oct 2020
04-20-2021, 04:36 AM -
#3
Is there a way to force it to render the graphics on the GPU? I don't know what it's currently doing on the GPU but with such a little usage there is no way it's rendering all the graphics.
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,607 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
04-20-2021, 11:07 AM -
#4
You have a RTX 2080, of course it's barely going to be used for something like that
Your CPU is clearly bottlenecking there, it has nothing to do with GPU
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    1x8G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
yuvalyly
Member


0
8 posts 3 threads Joined: Oct 2020
04-20-2021, 11:31 AM -
#5
(04-20-2021, 11:07 AM)Ani Wrote: You have a RTX 2080, of course it's barely going to be used for something like that
Your CPU is clearly bottlenecking there, it has nothing to do with GPU

I don't know how the emulator is rendering the graphics, but with such a low GPU usage, it looks like the CPU is rendering the graphics. That is why I'm asking if there is a way that the GPU will render the graphics instead of the CPU, which look like it's doing all the work.
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,607 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
04-20-2021, 12:38 PM -
#6
GPU usage reader is wrong, I've seen Task Manager report 0% usages as well in the past whereas that would mean you'd not be drawing anything to screen at all, try GPU-Z instead. RPCS3 doesn't have software-based renders.

For easing the CPU bottleneck, try decreasing SPU thread usage by changing Max SPURS Threads on Advanced Tab to 5, then 4. You need to try values decrementally and check if the game still works. If you change it to 5 and it doesn't work, then you can't change it at all, it depends on the game. If you change it but there's no difference, then the game doesn't use SPURS threads.

Alternatively, show a screenshot of RPCS3 with Performance Overlay enabled in Settings with the highest level of detail.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    1x8G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
yuvalyly
Member


0
8 posts 3 threads Joined: Oct 2020
04-20-2021, 03:46 PM -
#7
Here is a screenshot with high detail performance overlay: https://imgur.com/a/6yz3zqu
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,607 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
04-20-2021, 03:48 PM -
#8
Yeah, even the guest GPU is at 32% so it's far from a graphics related bottleneck

Try what I mentioned on the Advanced Tab, alternatively try SPU Block Size Mega as well
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    1x8G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
yuvalyly
Member


0
8 posts 3 threads Joined: Oct 2020
04-20-2021, 04:48 PM -
#9
Changing the SPU block size both decreased the FPS and broke the sound. About limiting the SPURS threads, the more I lowered it, the lower the FPS got (not by a lot though) and the sound broke less frequently, also, when the limit was set to 3 or lower, I saw a decrease in CPU usage, but the FPS was still low.

(04-20-2021, 03:48 PM)Ani Wrote: Yeah, even the guest GPU is at 32% so it's far from a graphics related bottleneck

Try what I mentioned on the Advanced Tab, alternatively try SPU Block Size Mega as well

Do you have other ideas?
This post was last modified: 04-21-2021, 03:39 PM by yuvalyly.


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)