nalfy87RPCS3 Fatal Error with Heavenly Sword
Started by nalfy87




6 posts in this topic
nalfy87
Member


0
3 posts 1 threads Joined: Sep 2020
09-22-2020, 04:18 PM -
#1
I am using the latest RPCS3 update and getting a Fatal Error window everytime I reach a certain area of the map. Just after the tutorial where you learn you can throw boxes and items and fight those guys just below a bridge, then you follow the path turn left it seems there is a scene where the game gives this warning and closes.

[img]<a href="https://ibb.co/w6RwVXt"><img src="https://i.ibb.co/JkKyV4Z/Clipboard01.jpg" alt="Clipboard01" border="0"></a>[/img]


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,570 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
09-22-2020, 06:50 PM -
#2
Driver crash.
Use Vulkan.
Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, Manjaro Linux
 Laptop:
Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      Manjaro Linux
jjw410
Member


0
15 posts 4 threads Joined: Oct 2020
10-04-2020, 04:51 PM -
#3
I've also been having this game-breaking error, consistently, with Vulkan and default settings. When the screen goes to white the emulator will always lock up and I will have to close it manually, it doesn't even give compressed log file afterwards. Although I have compressed the log.txt (I'm assuming it's essentially the same thing). This recording a log actually use the ASMJIT Decoder (for some reason the was my default), I did try it with others however and it just changed performance, the crash still occurs.




.rar   Heavenly Sword [BCES00078].rar (Size: 913.83 KB / Downloads: 0)
This post was last modified: 10-04-2020, 04:51 PM by jjw410.
nalfy87
Member


0
3 posts 1 threads Joined: Sep 2020
10-05-2020, 09:50 AM -
#4
(10-04-2020, 04:51 PM)jjw410 Wrote: I've also been having this game-breaking error, consistently, with Vulkan and default settings. When the screen goes to white the emulator will always lock up and I will have to close it manually, it doesn't even give compressed log file afterwards. Although I have compressed the log.txt (I'm assuming it's essentially the same thing). This recording a log actually use the ASMJIT Decoder (for some reason the was my default), I did try it with others however and it just changed performance, the crash still occurs.


Exactly the same as me. Also, I have used all the right settings including Vulkan. I am using a system with an I9 10900K and a RTX 3080.
jjw410
Member


0
15 posts 4 threads Joined: Oct 2020
10-08-2020, 02:34 PM -
#5
(10-05-2020, 09:50 AM)nalfy87 Wrote:
(10-04-2020, 04:51 PM)jjw410 Wrote: I've also been having this game-breaking error, consistently, with Vulkan and default settings. When the screen goes to white the emulator will always lock up and I will have to close it manually, it doesn't even give compressed log file afterwards. Although I have compressed the log.txt (I'm assuming it's essentially the same thing). This recording a log actually use the ASMJIT Decoder (for some reason the was my default), I did try it with others however and it just changed performance, the crash still occurs.


Exactly the same as me. Also, I have used all the right settings including Vulkan. I am using a system with an I9 10900K and a RTX 3080.

Okay, so it looks like this related to the VRAM-leakage problem that has been reportedly fixed. The put the log through the discord bot and it gave me back this.

     

I ran through the area again with the resolution set to default, VRAM usage idled at about 2Gb just in the menus, once I got to the white screen transition it spiked up to 3.6GBs and then crashed again. I'm not a programmer but I'm pretty sure it ain't supposed to do that. I think this is the VRAM issue that was supposedly fixed? I run a 970 with 4GB but if you have a 3080 then I don't see why your actual VRAM amount would be an issue :/

EDIT: I just tried it one more time at the default resolution and 30fps (Vblank = 60Hz) and I still had the VRAM spike up but it didn't crash. So at this point, I'm confused. I guess this is the memory leak issue? Usually, if the VRAM gets overwhelmed a game should just stutter before it can recover again before crashing, right? But even at that I don't know why this would use up so much VRAM in any case.
This post was last modified: 10-08-2020, 02:47 PM by jjw410. Edit Reason: Tested again with diff settings.
nalfy87
Member


0
3 posts 1 threads Joined: Sep 2020
10-08-2020, 02:49 PM -
#6
(10-08-2020, 02:34 PM)jjw410 Wrote:
(10-05-2020, 09:50 AM)nalfy87 Wrote:
(10-04-2020, 04:51 PM)jjw410 Wrote: I've also been having this game-breaking error, consistently, with Vulkan and default settings. When the screen goes to white the emulator will always lock up and I will have to close it manually, it doesn't even give compressed log file afterwards. Although I have compressed the log.txt (I'm assuming it's essentially the same thing). This recording a log actually use the ASMJIT Decoder (for some reason the was my default), I did try it with others however and it just changed performance, the crash still occurs.


Exactly the same as me. Also, I have used all the right settings including Vulkan. I am using a system with an I9 10900K and a RTX 3080.

Okay, so it looks like this related to the VRAM-leakage problem that has been reportedly fixed. The put the log through the discord bot and it gave me back this.

 

I ran through the area again with the resolution set to default, VRAM usage idled at about 2Gb just in the menus, once I got to the white screen transition it spiked up to 3.6GBs and then crashed again. I'm not a programmer but I'm pretty sure it ain't supposed to do that. I think this is the VRAM issue that was supposedly fixed? I run a 970 with 4GB but if you have a 3080 then I don't see why your actual VRAM amount would be an issue :/

EDIT: I just tried it one more time at the default resolution and 30fps (Vblank = 60Hz) and I still had the VRAM spike up but it didn't crash. So at this point, I'm confused. I guess this is the memory leak issue? Usually, if the VRAM gets overwhelmed a game should just stutter before it can recover again before crashing, right? But even at that I don't know why this would use up so much VRAM in any case.

I see. Well, there has been a couple of driver updates since the release of the 3080 so I will re-install and check whether this has helped. I will try different variables too. You would have thought 10GB of VRAM would be enough.
jjw410
Member


0
15 posts 4 threads Joined: Oct 2020
Exclamation  10-08-2020, 04:02 PM -
#7
Hey, so I managed to find something! On the Github thread discussing the memory leak issue kd-11 said:



"The game still generates an absurd amount of images per frame so you still need decent VRAM. 720p for example consumes 3GB of VRAM during the PiP sections. The memory isn't leaked though, we're releasing the data, just not fast enough to offset the demands. After the cutscene is over, equilibrium is restored and the allocation does go down significantly to around 1.2GB. I could in theory make the allocation threshold used to detect overallocation dynamic, but it should work just fine as it is right now. There is a balancing act between being aggressive with cleanup and keeping performance good which is why I'm allowing VRAM to grow to 3GB at 720p."



So it looks like this is intentional. The game just needs a BUNCH of VRAM or it'll poop its pants. So if you could do me a favour and find the appropriate resolution/framerate settings that allow you to get past the PiP (picture-in-picture) areas that are causing the VRAM to spike without crashing, that'd be ace Smile I would do it but I can't do very much with a 4GB 970 :/ Then I'll add to the wiki about suitable settings to use based on a users VRAM!

Exclamation IMPORTANT EDIT: For people finding this thread it was indeed a VRAM issue, turning off anti-aliasing and bringing down resolution scaling will prevent crashes. Asinine made the necessary edits to the wiki page and even gave a guide on the resolution to target based on your video card's VRAM amount - what a guy! Exclamation 
This post was last modified: 10-11-2020, 09:49 PM by jjw410.


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)