n1ckn4m3Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch [BLUS30947]
Started by n1ckn4m3




7 posts in this topic
n1ckn4m3
Member


0
10 posts 4 threads Joined: Mar 2018
03-30-2018, 04:58 PM -
#1
RPCS3 Version:  RPCS3 v0.0.5-6560-9d961f620 Alpha

Game:  Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch US [BLUS30947]

Behavior:  When LLVM Recompiler used for CPU Core, game crashes after LLVM compilation with the following error:

Code:
F 0:00:13.695010 {PPU[0x1000000] Thread (main_thread) [0x00da9984]} class std::runtime_error thrown: Null function
(in file ..\Utilities\JIT.cpp:139)

Full RPCS3.log.gz attached.

If I can provide any additional information, please let me know.

EDIT:  This was caused by a configuration error.  This version (and perhaps others, I'm not sure) will crash during boot if the "Hook Static Functions" configuration checkbox is enabled.  Clearing this checkbox allows the game to boot in LLVM Recompiler mode with no issues.
This post was last modified: 04-09-2018, 06:54 PM by n1ckn4m3.


Attached Files
.gz   RPCS3.log.gz (Size: 135.52 KB / Downloads: 57)
Ani
Administrator
*******


11
3,708 posts 96 threads Joined: Aug 2017
03-30-2018, 06:11 PM -
#2
You must use Interpreter, this is likely Ingame.
Moving to General Discussion until proper testing with Interpreter is done.
This post was last modified: 03-30-2018, 06:12 PM by Ani.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 2700X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Intel i7 6700HQ, Intel HD 530,      2x8G DDR4 2133MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Windows 7
n1ckn4m3
Member


0
10 posts 4 threads Joined: Mar 2018
03-31-2018, 01:56 AM -
#3
(03-30-2018, 06:11 PM)Ani Wrote: You must use Interpreter, this is likely Ingame.
Moving to General Discussion until proper testing with Interpreter is done.

Oh, no problem.  I saw a lot of people able to use the recompiler to play the game with different game IDs and since this ID wasn't in the compatibility list I thought it might go in that forum.  Thanks for moving it to the right place!

It does get In-game with Interpreter with this game ID, I can confirm.  About 15fps or so.  I added screenshots and the log for the session. Happy to add anything else if I missed it.
RPCS3 v0.0.5-6560-9d961f620 Alpha
This post was last modified: 04-01-2018, 02:01 PM by Asinine.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
           

.gz   RPCS3.log.gz (Size: 432.12 KB / Downloads: 6)
fifazalata
Member


0
60 posts 6 threads Joined: Aug 2017
04-01-2018, 10:17 AM -
#4
^^ It's supposed to work just fine with PPU LLVM
something is wrong on your end.
n1ckn4m3
Member


0
10 posts 4 threads Joined: Mar 2018
04-02-2018, 02:10 PM -
#5
Yeah, I figured such, so I joined the #help channel on Discord and they poked around for a minute then said that since it was a new game ID that wasn't in the compatibility database and it was dying before booting with the LLVM Recompiler enabled, that I should drop a post into the forums.

I've re-installed RPCS3 from the latest master into a new directory to make sure there was nothing with my existing install that caused the failure and had identical results, so I'm somewhat at a loss as to how to continue troubleshooting if the issue is specific to my instance of RPCS3.

So, I guess my question now is whether everyone who has the LLVM Recompiler working are using a different Game ID version of the game and whether anyone has been successful in getting the Recompiler core to work on this specific ID. I ripped this with my BD-ROM from my copy of the game, so if needed I can re-rip, but since the IRD validated successfully I don't believe it's a problem with the rip -- but I'm happy to troubleshoot in any way I can.

Looking online, it seems like I accidentally gave the wrong copy of the game to a friend of mine -- I bought the Wizard's Edition but digitalriver decided to completely drop the ball on shipping it for a week after the game came out, so I ended up buying a Steelcase version of the standard edition just so I could play it. Looks like when I gave the spare copy to my friend, I gave him the Wizard's Edition disc as the internet is telling me that would be BLUS-31039. As such, I've edited the first post to remove the reference to the Wizard's Edition.
This post was last modified: 04-02-2018, 06:29 PM by n1ckn4m3.
n1ckn4m3
Member


0
10 posts 4 threads Joined: Mar 2018
04-09-2018, 03:10 PM -
#6
Turns out this was, in fact, a configuration error.

Interpreter & Recompiler work fine on BLUS30947 . The issue I was having occurs when the "Hook static functions" checkbox is enabled in the game configuration. Removing this checkbox causes the game to boot successfully with the LLVM Recompiler.
This post was last modified: 04-09-2018, 06:43 PM by n1ckn4m3.
fifazalata
Member


0
60 posts 6 threads Joined: Aug 2017
04-09-2018, 06:50 PM -
#7
^ Good to hear.
Deminating
RPCS3 Tester


1
388 posts 105 threads Joined: Mar 2018
01-17-2019, 12:02 PM -
#8
RPCS3 v0.0.5-7732-5ed71811 Alpha | HEAD

Intel® Core™ i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz | 12 Threads | 15.93 GiB RAM | AVX+ | TSX



Playable. Game has been completed without issue (other than standard nvidia fullscreen issues independent of the game)
The final boss is unstable on Vulkan, use OpenGL.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
           

.gz   RPCS3.log.gz (Size: 1.11 MB / Downloads: 22)


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)