How can non-programmers help with RSX emulation?
Started by Ekaseo

5 posts in this topic
Ekaseo
Unregistered

02-24-2015, 10:01 AM -
Hi, I wanted to ask what can a non-programmer do to help you with the RSX emulation? I noticed in HLE menu that there is an option for RSX logging. Could that help you? or is there some other way to help? or at this point there is nothing I can do.
tambre
Unregistered

02-24-2015, 11:58 AM -
(02-24-2015, 10:01 AM)Ekaseo Wrote: Hi, I wanted to ask what can a non-programmer do to help you with the RSX emulation? I noticed in HLE menu that there is an option for RSX logging. Could that help you? or is there some other way to help? or at this point there is nothing I can do.

WARNING: I'm no expert on RSX, AlexAltea would be the one you would want to check the actual facts. CITATION NEEDED

I think it's best to report games that have minor graphical glitches (a color is off somewhere, text is fuzzy, etc). Since when we fix minor problems, the bigger problems in other games get smaller and the causes can be more easily traced.

For example: A game called Super Duper Blaster has it's HP bar not displaying the amount of HP you actually have. While Super Duper Blaster 2 has it's HP bar not displaying at all, glitched out textures on walls and the MP bar being offset from it's original position. The question becomes: Are all these problems in Super Duper Blaster 2 caused by one problem or 10 emulation inaccuracies in the emulator? By fixing the HP bar bug in Super Duper Blaster we can see that it may have already fixed the HP bar in Super Duper Blaster 2 not being visible. This would help us narrow down the problem in Super Duper Blaster 2. I think you already get the point.