Unexpected PARAM.SFO found in disc directory
Started by Modifyinc




8 posts in this topic
Modifyinc
Member


0
5 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2022
02-17-2022, 05:09 PM -
#1
What does this error mean in RPCS3? I tried to do a Google search and a quick search here before posting, but apparently I'm the first to ever receive this error as I didn't find one result that actually included any part of this search string.

Unexpected PARAM.SFO found in disc directory

The exact error is:

E SYS: Unexpected PARAM.SFO found in disc directory 'BLUS30061' (found '') x3

IRD confirms all the files are valid for this dump, so why is the PARAM.SFO file being in the disc directory considered "unexpected"?
Ani
Administrator
*******


16
4,251 posts 105 threads Joined: Aug 2017
02-19-2022, 08:30 PM -
#2
Missing log file
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 5800X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3600MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Ryzen 9 5900HX,  Radeon RX 6700M,   2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Manjaro Linux
Modifyinc
Member


0
5 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2022
02-19-2022, 10:45 PM -
#3
(02-19-2022, 08:30 PM)Ani Wrote: Missing log file

I was certain I posted this in the General section as I was only curious what that error message meant. Was it possibly moved? Anyhow, I have now uploaded the log file as requested. The instructions said to also include the TTY.log, but I noticed my TTY.log was empty, so I didn't include it.

If it helps, this error/warning message I posted about "Unexpected PARAM.SFO found in disc directory" only appears for this game starting at RPCS3 v0.0.18-12921 (2021-10-24) and any newer versions than this one. Yes, I spent a lot of time narrowing it down to this version. Also, this one game seems to only work when I do NOT get this error/warning message above, so only the versions before v0.0.18-12921 seem to work for this game. All the newer versions I tested, and I tested many, give that error/warning and then the game hangs forever at the same place, as you can see in the logs.

This is the last line that it will hang at indefinitely, requiring me to stop it manually.

E SYS: 'sys_fs_open' failed with 0x80010006 : CELL_ENOENT, “/dev_bdvd/PS3_GAME/USRDIR/VEHICLES/VEHICLELIST.BUNDLE” [1]


Attached Files
.rar   RPCS3.rar (Size: 63.22 KB / Downloads: 15)
Ani
Administrator
*******


16
4,251 posts 105 threads Joined: Aug 2017
02-19-2022, 11:36 PM -
#4
What happens if you try to boot the game on the newer version without the game update installed - does it work?

Also, what happens if you try to boot the game on the latest available version - v1.90?

This could be a bug, but I've never seen something like this before.

https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/pull/11015/files
https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/blob/4be9....cpp#L1031

According to the code, that message isn't an error, just weird data, but if the game is hanging then something should be wrong.
    Desktop: Ryzen 7 5800X,   Radeon RX 6800 XT, 2x8G DDR4 3600MHz, Manjaro Linux
     Laptop: Ryzen 9 5900HX,  Radeon RX 6700M,   2x8G DDR4 3200MHz, Manjaro Linux
Old Desktop: AMD FX-8350,     Radeon R9 280X,    2x4G DDR3 1600MHz, Manjaro Linux
Modifyinc
Member


0
5 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2022
02-20-2022, 12:44 AM -
#5
(02-19-2022, 11:36 PM)Ani Wrote: What happens if you try to boot the game on the newer version without the game update installed - does it work?

Also, what happens if you try to boot the game on the latest available version - v1.90?

This could be a bug, but I've never seen something like this before.

https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/pull/11015/files
https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/blob/4be9....cpp#L1031

According to the code, that message isn't an error, just weird data, but if the game is hanging then something should be wrong.

If I install any of the 7 updates for this game, then the game will actually show the loading screen with the spinning arrow. The only issue with this, is it will ALSO hang here indefinitely with the arrow still spinning. In the output log, there is NO error like before regarding the VEHICLELIST.BUNDLE” [1]. Everything is still in green like there shouldn't be any issues, yet obviously there is, requiring me to manually stop the game again.

Also, you mentioned trying the game without a game update installed. That's strange because I 'm certain I didn't have any updates installed for this  game. I specifically uninstalled the updates and verified it was at version 1.00 in RPCS3 before I uploaded the log. I wanted to make sure I was giving you a fresh log for the game.

I will do it again, but what if it continues to show it is still at version 1.40 in the log while still showing it's at version 1.00 on the dashboard of RPCS3? I guess I could provide a picture if it does.

(02-19-2022, 11:36 PM)Ani Wrote: What happens if you try to boot the game on the newer version without the game update installed - does it work?

Also, what happens if you try to boot the game on the latest available version - v1.90?

This could be a bug, but I've never seen something like this before.

https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/pull/11015/files
https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/blob/4be9....cpp#L1031

According to the code, that message isn't an error, just weird data, but if the game is hanging then something should be wrong.

I did uninstall the updates earlier, but I see where I accidentally uploaded the wrong log file which contained the v1.40 update.

Anyhow, I started over and have uploaded two log files: One is v1.00 and the other has the latest v1.90.

v1.00 is the only version that hangs at a black screen, while all the other 7 updates actually show the loading screen with the arrow spinning forever.

And just to recap, all 8 versions, including v1.00 work fine if I'm running any version LOWER than RPCS3 v0.0.18-12921 (2021-10-24).
I can provide a log from an older version of RPCS3 if you think it may help to compare. Just let me know.

Thank you!
This post was last modified: 02-20-2022, 02:13 AM by Modifyinc.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   

.rar   RPCS3 - Game v1.00.rar (Size: 50.86 KB / Downloads: 2)
.rar   RPCS3 - Game v1.90.rar (Size: 90.34 KB / Downloads: 2)
Modifyinc
Member


0
5 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2022
02-22-2022, 06:15 PM -
#6
Hey, just checking back. Any updates or further suggestions?
yurinator557
RPCS3 Tester


3
353 posts 42 threads Joined: Jul 2019
02-22-2022, 06:38 PM -
#7
Logs suggest bad game files, please dump the game again
Modifyinc
Member


0
5 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2022
03-09-2022, 07:18 PM -
#8
Sorry for the delay! For some reason I didn't get a notification this time that I had a reply

So even if IRD confirms the files are valid, there can still be corruption?

I'm not doubting you, just curious why it works fine on the many versions before v0.0.18-12921 (10/24/21), yet fails every time on any of the versions after this - and I have tested with many, which is how I narrowed it down to this version on 10/24/21.

I also noticed 4 out 5 of my disc based games are actually doing the same exact thing, and yet work fine using any version prior to v0.0.18-12921 (10/24/21), and also verified using IRD.
This post was last modified: 03-09-2022, 07:19 PM by Modifyinc.
yongki tan
Member


0
1 posts 0 threads Joined: Dec 2022
12-15-2022, 12:05 AM -
#9
Do you have the solution from this issue? Because I get same issue now, all my SFO's game becomes unexpacted in the newest build


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)