RPCS3 Forums
Just a question - Printable Version

+- RPCS3 Forums (https://forums.rpcs3.net)
+-- Forum: Community (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-16.html)
+--- Thread: Just a question (/thread-203651.html)

Pages: 1 2


Just a question - pidgey - 01-14-2022

I don't know if it's ok to post this here, but I'd like to ask about something I've seen recently and see if it's already implemented in the rpcs3 emulator or not. I've been testing the new versions of yuzu switch emulator, and I've seen that they have done something like a new code for nvidia graphics cards I think, that makes the emulator use much more gpu than cpu. and the truth is that the result is amazing, on my i5 4670 with the gt 1030 I have tried various games that before were super slow and now or I go 60 fps or close to it, even the breath of the wild was going to 23 or 25 fps, very close to the maximum fps of this game on switch. That comes my question, is implemented something similar in Rpcs3?, because I think it would be very good to increase a lot of performance in low end pc.

Thanks in advance


RE: Just a question - Ani - 01-15-2022

Not really sure what you're talking about but the bottleneck in PS3 emulation is by far CPU emulation, not guest GPU performance.
Furthermore, single vendor features are not really a good thing to spend time on, if that's even single vendor at all, I don't know what feature you're talking about.


RE: Just a question - pidgey - 01-15-2022

Hello Ani, mmm what im talking about is that they use the gpu as well on the emulation, i read is something new that they do for charge things on the gpu too, so the emulator dont need to use only cpu power for it and makes things smoother, and i think that this can be usefull for others emulators as well, i tell about nvidea because is the gpu that i have but i think that this feature is also for amd users as well..
I just tell this in case it was interesting to check out and if it can help Rpcs3 of some manner.

Thanks you.


RE: Just a question - sportster - 01-15-2022

(01-15-2022, 05:53 PM)pidgey Wrote: Hello Ani, mmm what im talking about is that they use the gpu as well on the emulation, i read is something new that they do for charge things on the gpu too, so the emulator dont need to use only cpu power for it and makes things smoother, and i think that this can be usefull for others emulators as well, i tell about nvidea because is the gpu that i have but i think that this feature is also for amd users as well..
I just tell this in case it was interesting to check out and if it can help Rpcs3  of some manner.

Thanks you.

Not a good idea to program rpcs3 to load more on gpu because the price of even a decent gpu is unreasonable high while a fairly powerful cpu is affordable.


RE: Just a question - Ani - 01-16-2022

If you don't know what you're talking about, I can't help you either.


RE: Just a question - pidgey - 02-01-2022

(01-16-2022, 08:39 AM)Ani Wrote: If you don't know what you're talking about, I can't help you either.

What i talking about is for example a video that i see of a i5 12600K with a integrated gpu on yuzu, and it was around 40 to 45 fps or so while on my i5 4570 with a gt 1030 i get 60 fps all times. so you can see whats diference im talking about. they do a new code to use much more the gpu than the cpu if have a decent gpu. And sportster, thats dont mean that would rely only on gpu like you thinks, is just that would use more gpu if have it like youzu is doing, so if ahve a no so good gpu would use cpu instead.

I hope that you understand it now Smile.


RE: Just a question - Darkhost1999 - 02-01-2022

Be specific what setting in yuzu are you talking about? Got a link/screenshot or anything we can go off of for information pertaining to what you're saying? Words are coming out but they just sound like "I don't know why switch emulation does not equal PS3 emulation. But switch emulation is using more gpu. Why don't you guys do what they're doing?"

The answer would be simple the switch hardware does not equal a ps3's hardware and requires a different approach than what Yuzu is doing. It's easy to compare emulators. But what's hard is actually knowing why one emulator can do something while another emulator can not do the same thing.


RE: Just a question - pidgey - 02-01-2022

(02-01-2022, 03:22 PM)Darkhost1999 Wrote: Be specific what setting in yuzu are you talking about? Got a link/screenshot or anything we can go off of for information pertaining to what you're saying? Words are coming out but they just sound like "I don't know why switch emulation does not equal PS3 emulation. But switch emulation is using more gpu. Why don't you guys do what they're doing?"

The answer would be simple the switch hardware does not equal a ps3's hardware and requires a different approach than what Yuzu is doing. It's easy to compare emulators. But what's hard is actually knowing why one emulator can do something while another emulator can not do the same thing.

Is relative new so i cant specific it well, i see that it have a option for using gpu normal or high, but changing this is more for some more hard games(Like breath of the wild), since the speed increased is there as a feature and not a option. I know that the machines have totally diferent structures, and also that the ps3 cell processor is more brute cpu force than anything. so must be hard to use more commands for using gpu on ps3 than in switch that im sure is more based on a combination of cpu and gpu.


RE: Just a question - Ani - 02-02-2022

This thread makes no sense, please research what you want to talk about as you have no idea of what you're trying to say either


RE: Just a question - pidgey - 02-04-2022

(02-02-2022, 09:50 PM)Ani Wrote: This thread makes no sense, please research what you want to talk about as you have no idea of what you're trying to say either

Hello Ani, allright i will try to check out about it, the problem as i said is that is very recent, im sure it was added on the previous month, but since yuzu last report was on december there are almost 0 information about it, If i havent test the newers versions of yuzu i would never notice this improvement. I know what im talking about, is basically a very big boost using gpu instead of charge all on the cpu, so makes the system faster even on low end pcs like mine.