RPCS3 Forums
benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs - Printable Version

+- RPCS3 Forums (https://forums.rpcs3.net)
+-- Forum: Community (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-16.html)
+--- Thread: benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs (/thread-200434.html)



benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs - ch4r1ty - 04-28-2019

i noticed that the emulator takes up a lot of my CPU usage (80-95%) and i wanna know if overclocking would do anything to help load times.


RE: benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs - gtgamer468 - 04-29-2019

Can your CPU be overclocked? Only certain CPUs with certain motherboards can be overclocked. Otherwise, be patient as the emulator has been maturing and probably hasn't been optimized for your particular game or even your hardware yet. What game are you trying to play?


RE: benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs - ch4r1ty - 04-29-2019

(04-29-2019, 03:42 AM)gtgamer468 Wrote: Can your CPU be overclocked? Only certain CPUs with certain motherboards can be overclocked. Otherwise, be patient as the emulator has been maturing and probably hasn't been optimized for your particular game or even your hardware yet. What game are you trying to play?

yeah, i can overclock my ryzen 5 2600 with my b450 motherboard. im playing persona 5, btw


RE: benefits of overclocking R5 2600 for running rpcs - gtgamer468 - 04-30-2019

You can overclock it then if you want. Are you using Windows 10? It's the main OS used currently in many applications, including gaming. If so, check Task Manager to see what other programs are running when using RPCS3. I've noticed that Game Mode does increase overall speeds slightly and takes your games at higher priorities than your other background programs.