RPCS3 Forums
rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop - Printable Version

+- RPCS3 Forums (https://forums.rpcs3.net)
+-- Forum: Support & Issues (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-17.html)
+--- Forum: Support (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-18.html)
+--- Thread: rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop (/thread-198090.html)



rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop - The_FS13 - 02-15-2018

I was having some issues with my laptop always going to "100% disk" and I was really afraid that my drive was gone so I decided to go ahead and do a factory restore, before said restore rpcs3 was working fine (I only use it to play "Scott Pilgrim vs the world" btw) problem is that after I made the factory restore it just won't work properly anymore.
  I used to use the -v0.0.2-5-2b0736b- alpha but as soon as I tried it for the first time It asked me for the "msvcp140.dll" which it also had done before the "restore" but then it also asked me for bunch of "api-ms-win-ctr" which was a first after getting those files it finally ran but as I start the game it just looks weird (I still get sound), I just looks all "glitched".
I decided to try a newer version -v0.0.4-6422-95c6a699alpha- but it also ends up looking weird but in a different way, basically as if the resolution was set to a cinema screen and it was all placed on my 15' screen as is.
  I will try to post some pictures of how it looks, if you guys can help I would really apreceate it as I'll be moving soon to the country side (bad to no internet connection) and this game was suposed to be my entertainment.


(what it should look like)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1QESxNPOEOaxbBMVdrLWC_UINWEK_sJEo

(what it looks like now)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1U51U929QYYh-iQBdTpnL40M0BPnrGLH-

(What it looks like with the older version)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1MrxQHKCgtOWj96BzJvrvO9ZVTiL902Ta

My laptop is a dell inspiron 3542 btw, If I forgot to post anything just let me know.


RE: rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop - Ani - 02-15-2018

Your image links don't work.
Never download DLLs, this is general knowledge on the internet, never do this. You must install the libraries that contain them. In this case, the ones on the Quickstart page, and you will also need some Windows updates if you're on Windows 7.

You must Disable Vertex Cache on the settings for Scott Pilgrim as well.


RE: rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop - The_FS13 - 02-15-2018

(02-15-2018, 07:54 PM)Ani Wrote: Your image links don't work.
Never download DLLs, this is general knowledge on the internet, never do this. You must install the libraries that contain them. In this case, the ones on the Quickstart page, and you will  also need some Windows updates if you're on Windows 7.

You must Disable Vertex Cache on the settings for Scott Pilgrim as well.

I edited the image links, I didn't know about the DLL thing as it is the 1st time I use this emulator and it really was just for this game, would you recomend I delete those dll's and instal said libraries? Im on windows 8.1 and did all the updates yesterday, I did the "Disable Vertex Cache" thing and the game seems to be working, would you still recomend I change anything? And do you have any idea why it worked before and now I had to change stuff btw?(kind of worried about my laptop as this is my last year of warranty and it was acting up)

Anyway thank you for the help and sorry for being such a bother and a noob.


RE: rpcs3 "broke" after formating my laptop - Ani - 02-17-2018

RPCS3 is highly experimental software, it's just RPCS3 that started requiring that option to always be always for Scott Pilgrim.