RPCS3 Forums
Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - Printable Version

+- RPCS3 Forums (https://forums.rpcs3.net)
+-- Forum: Commercial Games (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Playable (https://forums.rpcs3.net/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] (/thread-196737.html)

Pages: 1 2


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - evilalex - 09-24-2018

Not only was there no progress resolving this regression, it actually regressed even further!

Starting with "rpcs3-v0.0.5-7387-a3d44b5e_win64"

the intro animation with developer logos and such, the one preceding the main menu, is no longer displayed (on both OpenGL and Vulkan)!
The errors in the console are as follows:
U {rsx::thread} RSX TODO: Flushable section 0xc1750000 data may have been lost (lock_memory_region)
U {rsx::thread} RSX TODO: Valid region data may have been incorrectly unprotected (0xc1750000-0xc1830fff)
U {rsx::thread} RSX TODO: Flushable section 0xc1660000 data may have been lost (lock_memory_region)
U {rsx::thread} RSX TODO: Valid region data may have been incorrectly unprotected (0xc1660000-0xc1740fff)
The entire sequence is just pitch black.
The menu itself works (if you wait though the pitch black intro), but flickers just the same way it did after previous regression!
All the previous errors such as Blit request denied are still there.

Kd-11, please, we kindly and humbly ask you to do provide your attention to the matter!
It's really upsetting to read "progress reports" on AAA titles when such a seemingly simple game (in comparison with titles such as, say, Uncharted) degrades further and further.
Not to mention that it is STILL listed as "playable", when it is clearly NOT so, misleading people.


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - Asinine - 09-25-2018

Developers don't read the forums, and it's still playable on the build it was tested on which is still accessible and listed right next to where it says the game is playable.

If you want to report a regression, find exactly where the game broke and write a report on our GitHub: https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/issues
For anything that broke from the "AAA fixes" you should post in this issue instead: https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/issues/5001


I'd also suggest disabling gpu texture scaling, it causes issues in many games and provides basically zero performance gain.


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - evilalex - 09-25-2018

(09-25-2018, 08:14 AM)Asinine Wrote: ...If you want to report a regression, find exactly where the game broke...

I'd also suggest disabling gpu texture scaling, it causes issues in many games and provides basically zero performance gain.

Thank you, I've already tried that, the "strict rendering mode" and all the other options, including "hidden in the config file" ones such as "force CPU blit", as I mentioned earlier. None of them influence the issue in any significant way.
I tried looking at the code, and it seems that the blit surface is not being initialized in that game using the usual methods. Apparently, it sends a certain additional data structure to cellVideoOut method though the last parameter, the reading of which is not currently implemented. It is apparent, that either the code related to the init of the blit surface has been modified to strengthen the checks and not assume any default dimensions (the checks are there, I don't know if they always were), or some other modification to the RSX caused the discarded blit requests to result in flickering. As to what is currently happening to the intro sequence I have no idea, it started happening just yesterday after certain changes made by kd-11.

Unfortunately, I neither have an account on GitHub nor have the opportunity to deploy the full necessary development environment to properly attempt to debug the issue myself at this time.

P.S. The "AAA fixes" pull request specifically didn't do anything to this game. There simply was hope that it will, as it seemed from GitHub comments (you can at least read them without the account) made by kd-11 in response to legend800's post that it may fix it. Unfortunately, that didn't happen.



@"legend80" if you see this post, can you please reupload my log from the post above (the one with the intro sequence broken) to your existing GitHub issue on this game? This way we can avoid multiplying topics without necessity.


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - Asinine - 09-25-2018

You don't need to debug the issue, just open a quick issue and list off which Pull Request broke the game and attach your log file and a bit of necessary information. There's a lot of work for me to do already including all the video material for our channel so i can't really look into it for you at the moment.


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - legend80 - 09-25-2018

Done. Thanks for the info. Really hoping this game can get back to where it was last year.

https://github.com/RPCS3/rpcs3/issues/4412


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - evilalex - 09-27-2018

Thank you both!

FYI, just checked rpcs3-v0.0.5-7402-306f95a9_win64 (pull request #5173 by Nekotekina) and the intro sequence is back!
(TBH, i really hate this unskipable intro thing already, having to watch it again and again to test the game, but I'm happy to see it for once.)
I can't say whether merges in this particular PR fixed it or was it some interim pr (i've probably missed a couple, been busy yesterday), but in this one it works.

Unfortunately, and expectedly, the old "good" flickering is still there.


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - evilalex - 01-08-2019

I can't believe it actually happened, considering it did almost a year after it's been broken, but in rpcs3-v0.0.5-7678-52ac0a90_win64 it works properly again!
I casually downloaded the build, not expecting anything but the usual flickering, and to my utter surprise discovered that everything works properly, if not better!
Thanks kd-11 for such a New Year present!

Now, fingers crossed I'm hoping that it won't break again!


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - billy44 - 09-19-2020

Game Fully playable.

1080p 60 fps almost every time with a little drop downs

Pc Specs:
i5 3470
Geforce 1050ti 4gb
8gb hyperx 1600
Hdd 500GB


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - [email protected] - 11-23-2020

I have installed todays RPCS3 update and see what I get with Rayman Legends:

1000+ FPS ! Super WOW to see but not playable because of 1.000+ Frames Per Second. 
Is there a setting where you can control the FPS if TOO HIGH ;-) 

Pc Specs:
i9 9880H
Geforce RTX 2070
32GB internal memory
Hdd 1.000GB


RE: Rayman Legends [BLES01863] - [email protected] - 11-25-2020

(11-23-2020, 08:02 AM)[email protected] Wrote: I have installed todays RPCS3 update and see what I get with Rayman Legends:

1000+ FPS ! Super WOW to see but not playable because of 1.000+ Frames Per Second. 
Is there a setting where you can control the FPS if TOO HIGH ;-) 

Pc Specs:
i9 9880H
Geforce RTX 2070
32GB internal memory
Hdd 1.000GB

Fixed this with custom configuration framerate on 60. 
So nice to see things working with the right FPS ;-)